Signature d'Environnement Canada / Environment Canada signature Signature d'Environnement Canada / Environment Canada signature

Home Page





Call for papers


Hosting Hotel

Catering and Events



Symposium Poster

Welcome to the Roger Daley Memorial Symposium.

The Meteorological Service of Canada is pleased to invite the atmospheric, land-surface, and oceanic scientific community to a Memorial Symposium in honor of Dr. Roger Daley. The symposium will consist of review talks by invited speakers on recent developments in atmospheric data assimilation and of contributed papers (both oral and posters). The review talks will form the basis of a memorial volume and will deal with advanced topics and speacific areas developed by Roger Daley. The Symposium will be held at the McGill Faculty Club, in an historic Montreal mansion on the campus of McGill University located in the heart of Montreal.

The Symposium will begin with an Icebreaker cocktail, Sunday September 28, 2003 from 17h00 to 20h00, at the Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, where a block of rooms has also been reserved. A banquet with testimonies from family members, friends and colleagues will take place Tuesday evening September 30, 2003. Throughout the event, fine cuisine catering will be provided on the premises (except for breakfast).

Invited Speakers
  • Nancy Baker (NRL)
  • Philippe Courtier (Météo-France)
  • Dick Dee (NASA Global Modeling and Assimilation Office)
  • Ron Errico (NASA Global Modeling and Assimilation Office)
  • Tony Hollingsworth (ECMWF)
  • Andrew Lorenc (MetOffice)
  • Richard Ménard (Meteorological Service of Canada)
  • Olivier Talagrand (LMD)
Call for papers

Contributions are solicited on research topics that include, but are not limited to: development of assimilation systems, modeling of error covariances, statistical diagnostics in observation space, sensitivity analysis, Kalman filtering and ensemble Kalman filtering, and data assimilation for Earth System science.

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • Richard Ménard (MSC- Chair)
  • Ed Barker (NRL)
  • Steve Cohn (NASA GMAO)
  • Phillippe Courtier (Météo-France)
  • Ron Gelaro (NASA GMAO)
  • Andrew Lorenc (MetOffice)
  • Adrian Simmons (ECMWF)

For information regarding this web site, please e-mail the webmaster.